CLI logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CLI?

TL;DR
  • CLI here means Certified Legal Investigator, a credential from the National Association of Legal Investigators (NALI).
  • Candidates must pass three components: a research white paper, a written exam, and an oral exam.
  • You need at least 70% in each of the three components to pass.
  • Eligibility centers on five years of qualifying full-time civil-plaintiff or criminal-defense investigative experience.

What CLI Means in This Context

The acronym CLI is shared by several unrelated credentials and technical terms. On this site, CLI means Certified Legal Investigator, a professional designation for investigators who work on legal matters, particularly on the civil-plaintiff and criminal-defense side. If you arrived looking for a different certification that happens to share the abbreviation, nothing here will apply to it, and you should not carry any of the details below across to another program.

The designation signals that an investigator has been vetted on experience, has demonstrated research and writing ability, has passed a written test of investigative knowledge, and has defended their approach to ethics in a live oral assessment. If you want a shorter orientation to the terminology before going deeper, the explainers on what CLI stands for and what CLI certification is cover the basics.

Who Runs the Credential

The Certified Legal Investigator program is run by the National Association of Legal Investigators, Inc. (NALI). Notably, the program is administered and proctored by the CLI Committee and by existing Certified Legal Investigators rather than an outside testing vendor. No external vendor has been identified in the public materials. In practice, that means the people evaluating you are working peers who hold the same credential, which shapes the character of the assessment: it leans toward practical judgment and professional standards rather than purely abstract recall.

Why peer administration matters: Because current CLIs run and proctor the process, expect the oral and practical portions to probe how you would actually handle a file, a witness, or an ethical conflict. Rehearse real scenarios from your own casework rather than memorizing definitions alone.

Who Qualifies to Sit

Eligibility is built around experience, and it is the first hurdle many candidates underestimate. A full treatment lives in our CLI requirements guide, but the core elements are:

  • Five years of qualifying full-time experience in civil-plaintiff or criminal-defense investigation.
  • A majority of that qualifying practice with an eligible law firm, a government defense employer, or an investigative firm.
  • State licensing where your jurisdiction requires it.
  • Two verification contacts and a background review.
  • No felony convictions, according to the program brochure.

Education can shorten the experience clock. Sixty semester credits or ninety quarter credits may replace one year of the experience requirement. No fixed number of training hours was found in the public materials, so there is no mandatory course load to complete before applying.

Experience is the gatekeeper: Investigators who split time between insurance-defense or corporate work and plaintiff or criminal-defense work should audit their history carefully. The program emphasizes qualifying practice, so unclear job histories are a common source of application friction.

The Three Assessed Components

Unlike many certifications, the CLI is not organized into weighted content domains with published percentages. Instead, it is structured around three assessed components, and you must reach at least 70% in each one. These are assessment components, not an exhaustive knowledge blueprint, and no official per-topic weights have been verified. For a deeper breakdown, see our CLI exam domains guide.

Component 1: Research White Paper

Candidates prepare an original, unpublished paper of at least 1,000 words in advance. It is submitted with the application and fee.

  • Must be original and unpublished
  • Minimum of 1,000 words
  • Due 30 days before the exam
  • Serves as the foundation for the oral discussion

Component 2: Written Examination

A timed written test with a 3-hour limit covering investigative knowledge and practical skills.

  • Three-hour time limit
  • Mix of objective and written-response formats
  • Includes practical items such as interview, statement, and memo tasks
  • Number of questions and scored versus unscored split are not publicly disclosed

Component 3: Oral Examination

An ethics and oral assessment lasting roughly three additional hours, drawing on your white paper and professional judgment.

  • Approximately three hours
  • Oral ethics scenarios
  • Discussion tied to the prepared white paper
  • Evaluated by Certified Legal Investigators

Because each component carries its own 70% threshold, a strong written score does not rescue a weak white paper or oral performance. Treat the three as independent tests rather than a single blended score. Our breakdown of the CLI passing score explains how this per-component standard changes your strategy.

Question Styles and Format

The written component draws on a deliberately varied set of formats. Publicly described styles include:

  • Definitions
  • True/false
  • Multiple choice
  • Fill-in-the-blank
  • Matching
  • Essays
  • Practical exercises: interview, statement-taking, and memo writing
  • Oral ethics scenarios

This blend means you need both recognition skills (selecting the right answer) and production skills (writing a coherent statement or memo under time pressure). Rules on open-book use, calculators, and remote administration have not been verified in the public sources, so confirm those details directly with NALI before exam day.

ComponentFormatTimeMinimum to Pass
Research white paperOriginal unpublished paper, 1,000+ words, prepared in advancePrepared before the examAt least 70%
Written examinationDefinitions, true/false, multiple choice, fill-in, matching, essays, practical items3-hour limitAt least 70%
Oral examinationEthics and oral assessmentAbout 3 hoursAt least 70%
A note on pass rates: NALI does not publicly disclose a pass rate, and we will not invent one. For a candid discussion of what is and is not known, read the CLI pass rate analysis.

Fees, Deadlines and Retakes

The money and timing mechanics are straightforward but unforgiving. A complete walkthrough is in the CLI certification cost breakdown; the essentials are below.

ItemDetail
Fee for NALI members$200
Fee for non-members$300
Retake feeOne-third of the applicable fee per failed section (rounding not specified)
Submission deadlineApplication, fee, and white paper due 30 days before the exam

The retake structure is candidate-friendly: you are charged per failed section rather than for the whole program. That also reinforces the independence of the three components, since you only redo what you missed.

Scheduling caution: Official statements about the three-year completion clock and about regional exam scheduling appear to conflict in the public materials. Before committing to a timeline, confirm the current rules directly with NALI, and check our CLI exam dates guide for what we can and cannot verify.

Keeping the Credential Active

Earning the designation is not the end of the obligation. NALI's maintenance materials describe continuing education requirements on a three-year cycle:

  • 50 CE hours in each of the first two three-year periods.
  • 36 CE hours in later three-year periods.
  • Five-year reporting after 15 years of holding the credential.

The program brochure differs from the maintenance page on some points, and the hours and fees for the later five-year reporting periods need confirmation with NALI. Treat the figures above as the maintenance page's current statement and verify before planning your own continuing education.

Where Certified Legal Investigators Work

The experience requirements point directly to the employers that value this credential. Qualifying practice runs through law firms, government defense employers, and investigative firms, with a focus on civil-plaintiff and criminal-defense work. Typical settings include:

  • Plaintiff-side personal injury and civil litigation firms
  • Criminal defense practices, including public defender offices
  • Independent investigative firms serving attorneys
  • Government defense agencies

For market-facing information, see the guides on CLI jobs, the CLI salary guide, and whether the credential is worth it as an investment. We deliberately avoid quoting specific earnings figures here because none are verified in the program's own materials.

Sequencing Your Preparation

Because the white paper is due 30 days before the exam and feeds the oral component, preparation should be ordered by dependency rather than by topic. Start with the paper, then build written fluency, then rehearse the oral defense. General study habits matter far less here than getting this order right. Practice questions are educational preparation only; they cannot replace the original white paper or the live interview, statement-taking, and oral ethics assessments.

Phase 1

Research White Paper

  • Choose a topic drawn from your own qualifying casework
  • Draft an original, unpublished paper well beyond the 1,000-word minimum
  • Finalize before the 30-day submission deadline
Phase 2

Written Examination

  • Drill definitions, true/false, matching, and fill-in recall
  • Practice timed essays and practical memo and statement writing within the 3-hour limit
  • Take timed practice sets on the main practice test site
Phase 3

Oral Examination

  • Rehearse ethics scenarios aloud with a colleague who is a CLI if possible
  • Prepare to discuss and defend every claim in your white paper
  • Review professional-conduct standards in your jurisdiction

For a full plan, the CLI study guide expands on this sequence, and the CLI cheat sheet offers a compact review of key facts. If you are weighing how demanding the process is, our difficulty guide addresses that directly.

Key Takeaway

Treat the white paper as the first exam, not an administrative form. It is due before test day, it must be original and unpublished, and it anchors the oral discussion. A weak paper creates problems in two of the three components.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CLI stand for on this site?

It stands for Certified Legal Investigator, a credential offered by the National Association of Legal Investigators (NALI). It is unrelated to other certifications that share the same abbreviation.

How many parts does the CLI process have?

Three assessed components: an original research white paper, a written examination with a 3-hour limit, and an oral ethics examination of about three additional hours. You need at least 70% in each.

How much does it cost to take the CLI exam?

The fee is $200 for NALI members and $300 for non-members. A retake costs one-third of the applicable fee per failed section.

What experience do I need before applying?

Five years of qualifying full-time civil-plaintiff or criminal-defense investigative experience, with most of it at an eligible law firm, government defense employer, or investigative firm. Sixty semester or ninety quarter credits may replace one year.

Is the pass rate published?

No. NALI does not publicly disclose a pass rate, and the number of written questions and the scored versus unscored split are also not published.

Ready to pass your CLI exam?

Put this into practice with free CLI questions across every exam domain.