- The Certified Legal Investigator credential is administered by NALI and requires at least 70% in each of three components.
- The three components are a research white paper, a written exam, and an oral exam; they are not weighted domains.
- The written exam has a 3-hour limit; ethics/oral takes roughly 3 additional hours.
- Application, fee, and white paper are due 30 days before the exam: $200 members, $300 non-members.
The CLI at a Glance
This page condenses what a Certified Legal Investigator candidate needs on one screen. Here, CLI means exactly one thing: the Certified Legal Investigator designation offered by the National Association of Legal Investigators, Inc. (NALI). If you want the broader picture first, the explainer What Is CLI Certification? covers the credential's purpose, and CLI Certification gives the overview.
The program is run by NALI's CLI Committee together with existing Certified Legal Investigators. No outside testing vendor has been identified, which matters for how you think about logistics: scheduling, proctoring, and grading flow through the association rather than a commercial testing center network.
| Item | Fact |
|---|---|
| Certifying body | National Association of Legal Investigators, Inc. (NALI) |
| Administered by | CLI Committee and Certified Legal Investigators |
| Assessment components | Research white paper, written examination, oral examination |
| Passing standard | At least 70% in each of the three components |
| Written exam time limit | 3 hours |
| Ethics/oral assessment | Approximately 3 additional hours |
| Exam fee | $200 members / $300 non-members |
| Retake fee | One-third of the applicable fee per failed section |
| Submission deadline | Application, fee, and paper due 30 days before the exam |
The Three Assessed Components
The most common misreading of this credential is treating it like a multi-domain exam with a published percentage blueprint. It is not. The three items below are assessment components, each scored on its own against the 70% threshold. No official per-topic weights have been verified. For a deeper look at how the pieces fit, see CLI Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas.
Component 1: Research White Paper
An original, unpublished paper of at least 1,000 words, prepared in advance and submitted with your application and fee.
- Must be original and unpublished
- Minimum 1,000 words
- Due 30 days before the exam, alongside the application and fee
- Scored against the 70% standard like every other component
Component 2: Written Examination
The timed portion, with a 3-hour limit and a mix of objective and constructed-response formats.
- Definitions, true/false, multiple choice, fill-in, matching, and essays
- Practical tasks involving interviews, statements, and memos
- Total question count and the scored/unscored split are not publicly disclosed
Component 3: Oral Examination
The ethics and oral assessment, lasting approximately 3 additional hours beyond the written portion.
- Oral ethics scenarios and professional-judgment questions
- Delivered live rather than on paper
- Practice questions cannot replace the live assessment itself
Eligibility Facts to Memorize
Eligibility is where many applicants stumble, because the experience requirement is specific to a type of practice. The full walkthrough lives in CLI Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify; the one-page version follows.
- Experience: five years of qualifying full-time work in civil-plaintiff or criminal-defense investigation.
- Where the experience was earned: the majority of qualifying practice must be with an eligible law firm, a government defense employer, or an investigative firm.
- Education substitution: 60 semester credits or 90 quarter credits may replace one year of the experience requirement.
- Licensing: state licensing is required where the state demands it.
- Verification: two verification contacts, plus a background review.
- Character: the brochure requires no felony convictions.
- Training hours: no fixed training-hour requirement was found in public materials.
Fees, Retakes, and Deadlines
The money and calendar facts are short but easy to get wrong under pressure. For a fuller breakdown, see CLI Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown and CLI Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
| Topic | What to remember |
|---|---|
| Member fee | $200 |
| Non-member fee | $300 |
| Retake | One-third of the applicable fee, per failed section (rounding is not specified) |
| Paperwork deadline | Application, fee, and white paper due 30 days before the exam |
| Retake logic | Because components are scored separately, a failure is tied to a section rather than the whole attempt |
One practical consequence: because the white paper is due a full 30 days ahead, it effectively sets your preparation timeline. You cannot finish it in the final week and still sit the exam.
Written Exam Format and Question Styles
The written component rewards candidates who can do more than recognize correct answers. The format list tells you what to practice:
- Definitions: know investigative and legal terminology precisely enough to state it in your own words.
- True/false and multiple choice: classic recognition items.
- Fill-in and matching: recall under time pressure.
- Essays: organized, professional written responses.
- Practical tasks: interview, statement, and memo exercises that mirror real casework.
The practical items are the differentiator. Writing a clean witness statement or an investigative memo is a skill, and it cannot be crammed. Candidates with strong field experience but little formal writing practice should spend disproportionate time here. Our CLI practice tests are useful for the objective formats, but they are educational preparation only and cannot replace the original white paper or the live interview, statement-taking, and oral ethics assessment.
Key Takeaway
Do not assume you can use notes, a calculator, or remote proctoring. Open-book, calculator, and remote-testing rules are unverified in public sources, so ask NALI directly rather than relying on forum answers.
White Paper Quick Reference
The white paper is the only component you control completely and finish before exam day. A short checklist:
- Originality: the paper must be original and unpublished. Do not recycle a published article or a prior report.
- Length: 1,000 words is the minimum, not a target to hover around.
- Timing: submit it with your application and fee, 30 days before the exam.
- Subject choice: pick a topic from your civil-plaintiff or criminal-defense practice where you can demonstrate real investigative depth.
- Standard: it must independently reach 70% or better.
Because it is a standalone scored component, treat it with the same seriousness as the exams. Drafting early leaves room for review by a colleague, which is the cheapest quality improvement available.
Oral and Ethics Assessment Reminders
The oral portion takes approximately 3 hours beyond the written exam, which makes it a substantial block of the process rather than a brief formality. It tests professional judgment out loud, where you cannot revise a sentence after writing it.
- Rehearse answering ethics scenarios aloud, not silently.
- Practice stating a position, giving your reasoning, and acknowledging competing considerations.
- Build a habit of citing the professional standard behind your decision rather than just your conclusion.
- Expect the interview, statement, and memo skills from the written portion to reappear in a spoken context.
Candidates who find the oral format intimidating should read How Hard Is the CLI Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 for a realistic view of where applicants tend to feel pressure. As with all of these components, the official pass rate is not publicly disclosed; see CLI Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for what can and cannot be said.
Maintaining the Credential
Earning the designation is not the end of the paperwork. NALI's maintenance page and form describe continuing education on a three-year cycle:
| Period | Continuing education requirement |
|---|---|
| First two three-year periods | 50 CE hours in each period |
| Subsequent three-year periods | 36 CE hours |
| After 15 years | Reporting moves to a five-year cycle |
If you are weighing whether the ongoing commitment is justified, Is the CLI Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CLI Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis examine the career side, and CLI Jobs looks at where credential holders work.
What Is Not Publicly Confirmed
A good cheat sheet is honest about its gaps. The following items are not verifiable from public NALI materials, so do not assume answers:
- The total number of written questions and how many are scored versus unscored
- Any weighted content blueprint or official per-topic percentages
- A formal exam-version year
- Open-book, calculator, or remote-proctoring rules
- The official pass rate
- Fixed required training hours
- Rounding rules for the one-third retake fee
Anyone selling you a precise domain-percentage breakdown for this credential is supplying information NALI has not published. Your reliable sources are the program pages and the application PDF on nalionline.org.
Sequencing Your Review
Because the white paper is due first and the two live components follow, the order of work is driven by the credential's structure. A compact plan, tied to the three components, looks like this; the full approach is in CLI Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
Paperwork and white paper
- Confirm eligibility and gather your two verification contacts
- Draft, revise, and finalize the 1,000-word-minimum original paper
- Submit everything at least 30 days before the exam
Written exam skills
- Drill definitions, true/false, matching, and multiple choice
- Practice timed essays and practical interview, statement, and memo exercises within a 3-hour frame
Oral and ethics
- Rehearse ethics scenarios aloud with a colleague
- Review professional standards you will need to cite verbally
This ordering puts the deadline-driven item first, the highest-volume content next, and the live performance last, when recall of the material is freshest. If you need a place to rehearse objective questions between those phases, the main practice test site offers question banks you can use alongside the official materials.
FAQ
The National Association of Legal Investigators, Inc. (NALI) issues it. The CLI Committee and existing Certified Legal Investigators administer the process, and no external testing vendor has been identified.
You need at least 70% in each of the three components: the research white paper, the written examination, and the oral examination. Strength in one does not compensate for weakness in another.
The fee is $200 for NALI members and $300 for non-members. A retake costs one-third of the applicable fee per failed section; how that amount is rounded is not specified.
The application, fee, and white paper are due 30 days before the exam. Because official statements on the completion clock and regional scheduling conflict, confirm your specific dates with NALI.
Yes. 60 semester credits or 90 quarter credits may replace one year of the five-year experience requirement. The remaining experience must still be qualifying civil-plaintiff or criminal-defense investigative work, and the brochure requires no felony convictions.