CLI logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLI Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • Your application, fee, and white paper are due 30 days before the exam, so that is your effective hard deadline.
  • The written exam has a 3-hour limit; the ethics/oral assessment adds roughly 3 more hours.
  • Eligibility (five years of qualifying experience, two verification contacts) must be settled before you can schedule anything.
  • Official statements on the three-year completion clock and regional scheduling conflict, so confirm directly with NALI.

Why the CLI Has No Fixed Public Exam Calendar

Many certification exams publish a tidy calendar of testing windows run through a commercial vendor. The Certified Legal Investigator credential does not work that way. The program is run by the National Association of Legal Investigators, Inc. (NALI), and the exam is administered and proctored by the CLI Committee and existing Certified Legal Investigators. No external testing vendor has been identified, which means there is no on-demand scheduling portal where you pick an open seat next Tuesday.

That matters for how you plan. Because sittings are organized by the certifying community itself, the dates you can realistically target depend on when and where NALI offers the examination. This article therefore focuses on what is actually verifiable: the deadline structure, the component format, and the sequencing of your preparation. For any specific sitting date or location, confirm directly with NALI through the official program pages at nalionline.org before you commit travel or time off.

Check the source, not a calendar aggregator: Because the CLI is administered by NALI's own committee rather than a vendor, third-party "exam date" listings are unlikely to be authoritative. Treat the NALI program page and the current application packet as the only reliable sources for sittings.

The 30-Day Rule: Your Real Deadline

The single most concrete date rule in the program is this: the application, the fee, and the research white paper are all due 30 days before the exam. That bundling is the key planning insight. It is not just a form-and-payment deadline; it includes a finished piece of original writing.

Counting backward from a sitting, here is what must be complete by the 30-day mark:

  • The completed application, including your experience history and the contact information NALI uses for verification.
  • The fee: $200 for NALI members or $300 for non-members.
  • The white paper: an original, unpublished paper of at least 1,000 words, prepared in advance.

Because the white paper is a graded component and must be original and unpublished, you cannot dust off something you already circulated. Start it early enough that revision does not collide with the submission cutoff. For a deeper look at what the full process costs, see our CLI certification cost breakdown.

Three Components, Three Scheduling Problems

The CLI is assessed through three components rather than three weighted content domains. Each one has a different time footprint, and each pulls on your calendar differently. For the full content picture, see our guide to the CLI exam domains.

Domain 1: Research White Paper

Prepared in advance and submitted with your application, at least 30 days before the exam. This is the one component you control completely on your own schedule, which also makes it the one most likely to be underestimated.

  • Original and unpublished
  • Minimum 1,000 words
  • Part of the same 30-day submission package as the application and fee

Domain 2: Written Examination

A 3-hour written sitting. Question formats reported include definitions, true/false, multiple choice, fill-in, matching, essays, and practical exercises such as an interview, statement, or memo. NALI has not publicly disclosed the number of questions or any scored/unscored split.

  • 3-hour limit
  • Mixed objective and written-response formats
  • Open-book, calculator, and remote-proctoring rules are unverified; ask NALI

Domain 3: Oral Examination

The ethics/oral assessment takes approximately 3 additional hours. It is where your practical judgment as an investigator is tested in conversation rather than on paper.

  • Approximately 3 hours
  • Includes oral ethics assessment
  • Cannot be rehearsed through multiple-choice practice alone

Add the two sittings together and you are looking at roughly six hours of assessed time, plus the earlier white paper work. When you evaluate a possible sitting date, ask whether the written and oral portions are offered back-to-back or separately, since that affects travel and time-off planning. The program materials do not settle that question publicly, so it belongs on your list of questions for NALI.

Eligibility Comes Before Any Date

You cannot meaningfully "pick a date" until you know you qualify, because the application that triggers the 30-day clock requires documented eligibility. The requirements, in summary, are:

  • Five years of qualifying experience: full-time civil-plaintiff or criminal-defense investigation work.
  • Practice setting: the majority of qualifying work must be with an eligible law firm, a government defense employer, or an investigative firm.
  • State licensing: required where the state requires it.
  • Verification: two verification contacts and a background review.
  • Character: the brochure requires no felony convictions.
  • Education substitution: 60 semester credits or 90 quarter credits may replace one year of experience.

No fixed training-hour requirement was found in the public materials. If you are within a year or so of meeting the experience threshold, the smart move is to line up your verification contacts now, since they must be reachable during review. Our full CLI requirements guide walks through each prerequisite, and the overview of CLI certification explains how the credential fits into the investigative profession.

Verification contacts are a hidden timeline risk: Two people must be willing and available to verify your experience. If a former supervisor is slow to respond or hard to reach, your application can stall, and a stalled application can push you past the 30-day cutoff for a target sitting.

When Official Statements Conflict

An honest look at the public materials shows two areas where NALI's own statements do not line up cleanly, and both bear directly on scheduling:

TopicWhat the public materials showWhat to do
Completion clockA three-year completion window is referenced, but statements about it conflictAsk NALI in writing how the clock starts and what happens if you miss it
Regional schedulingStatements about how sittings are arranged by region conflictConfirm your region's sitting options before building a study plan around one date
Remote or open-book rulesNot verified in public sourcesRequest the written exam-day rules before you register

Rather than guess, treat any unresolved item as a question for the CLI Committee. Keep the reply in writing. If a committee member gives you a date or a window, note the name and date of the conversation so you can reference it later.

Fee Timing and Retake Mechanics

Money and dates are tied together because the fee is due with the application, 30 days before the exam. The published structure is:

ItemAmountTiming
Exam fee, NALI member$200Due with application, 30 days before exam
Exam fee, non-member$300Due with application, 30 days before exam
RetakeOne-third of the applicable fee, per failed sectionRounding is not specified

The retake rule is section-based. If you fall short on one component, you pay one-third of your applicable fee for that section rather than the whole amount again. Because the public materials do not specify rounding, confirm the exact figure with NALI before budgeting. The member discount is also worth weighing against the cost of joining; our ROI analysis of the CLI covers the broader cost-benefit picture.

To pass, you need at least 70% in each of the three components. That per-component threshold means a strong white paper cannot rescue a weak oral, so dates should be chosen with all three components in mind. NALI does not publicly disclose a pass rate; see our note on what is and is not known about CLI pass rates, and our explainer on the passing score for the 70% rule in detail.

A CLI-Specific Planning Timeline

Generic "study for twelve weeks" advice does not fit this exam, because the white paper is due a month early and the oral component cannot be crammed. The sequence below is built around the actual deadline structure. Treat the week labels as relative to your 30-day submission cutoff, not as an official schedule.

Early

Settle eligibility and logistics

  • Confirm five years of qualifying experience (or the credit substitution)
  • Line up two verification contacts
  • Ask NALI about sitting dates, region, and the written/oral arrangement
Middle

Write and revise the white paper

  • Choose an original topic and confirm it is unpublished
  • Draft past the 1,000-word minimum, then revise
  • Finish and submit with application and fee by the 30-day cutoff
Final month

Prepare for the written and oral sittings

  • Drill definitions, true/false, matching, and fill-in material
  • Practice writing interview summaries, statements, and memos under time pressure
  • Rehearse ethics scenarios aloud, since the oral assessment is conversational

The reason to write the white paper in the middle phase rather than last is simple: it is the only component that is both graded and due before the exam. Written and oral preparation can continue after you submit. Our CLI study guide expands on how to build practice around each component, and the difficulty guide helps you judge how much time to allow. You can also test your recall of definitions and procedures with practice questions at CLI Exam Prep, keeping in mind that practice questions are educational preparation only and cannot replace the original white paper, the interview and statement-taking exercises, or the oral ethics assessment.

Key Takeaway

Build your calendar backward from the 30-day submission cutoff, not forward from the exam date. The white paper, application, and fee all land at that earlier point, so the real start of your timeline is a month before you ever sit down in the exam room.

After You Pass: Maintenance Dates to Track

Dates do not stop at certification. The credential carries continuing education obligations, and the public materials show some inconsistency here too. According to the maintenance page and form, you need 50 continuing education hours in each of the first two three-year periods, then 36 hours per period afterward, with five-year reporting after 15 years. The brochure differs from the maintenance page, and the later five-year hour requirements and fees need confirmation.

In practical terms, start logging continuing education from day one rather than reconstructing it at the end of a period. Keep certificates and records, and confirm the current requirement with NALI at the start of each period. Understanding how the credential supports your career trajectory is covered in our overview of CLI jobs and our earnings analysis.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a published list of CLI exam dates for 2026?

The program is run by NALI's CLI Committee and certified investigators rather than a testing vendor, and no fixed public calendar was identified in the reviewed sources. Contact NALI directly for current sitting dates and locations.

What is the application deadline?

The application, fee, and white paper are due 30 days before the exam. Because the white paper must be finished by then, your effective starting point is well before that cutoff.

How long does the exam take?

The written examination has a 3-hour time limit. The ethics/oral assessment takes approximately 3 additional hours, and the white paper is prepared in advance and submitted before the exam.

What does it cost to apply, and what if I need to retake a section?

The fee is $200 for NALI members and $300 for non-members. A retake costs one-third of the applicable fee per failed section; rounding is not specified, so confirm the exact amount with NALI.

Can I take the exam remotely or use reference materials?

Open-book, calculator, and remote-proctoring rules could not be verified in the public sources. Request the written exam-day rules from NALI before you register and plan around them.

Ready to pass your CLI exam?

Put this into practice with free CLI questions across every exam domain.