CLI logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLI Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • NALI does not publicly disclose a Certified Legal Investigator pass rate, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
  • You must score at least 70% in each of three components: white paper, written exam, and oral exam.
  • The written exam has a 3-hour limit; the ethics/oral assessment adds roughly 3 more hours.
  • Eligibility requires five years of qualifying full-time civil-plaintiff or criminal-defense investigative experience, which pre-screens candidates.

Why There Is No Published CLI Pass Rate

If you searched for the Certified Legal Investigator pass rate hoping for a clean percentage, here is the honest answer up front: the National Association of Legal Investigators, Inc. (NALI) does not publicly disclose one. There is no annual pass-rate report, no cohort statistics, and no published count of candidates who sat versus candidates who passed.

That is not unusual for a small, peer-administered credential. Unlike certifications delivered through a large testing vendor, the CLI is administered and proctored by the CLI Committee and by Certified Legal Investigators themselves. No external vendor has been identified, which means there is no third-party testing company compiling and publishing score distributions.

A rule worth applying to this topic: If a website quotes a precise CLI pass percentage without citing NALI, treat it as unverified. Because NALI has not published the figure, anyone stating one is either guessing or borrowing a number from a different credential that happens to share the acronym.

This article therefore does something more useful than repeating a number: it lays out what the public record actually supports, explains the structural reasons the credential is demanding, and shows you how to prepare against the real assessment design. For a broader look at difficulty, see our guide on how hard the CLI exam is.

What the Public Record Does Tell Us

Even without a pass rate, several verifiable facts bear directly on how selective and demanding the credential is. They are summarized below.

ItemWhat NALI's public materials indicate
Administering bodyNALI, via the CLI Committee and Certified Legal Investigators
Passing thresholdAt least 70% in each of three components
Written exam time limit3 hours
Ethics/oral assessmentApproximately 3 additional hours
White paperOriginal, unpublished, 1,000-word minimum, prepared in advance
Exam fee$200 members / $300 non-members
Retake feeOne-third of the applicable fee per failed section
Published pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Question count and scored/unscored splitNot publicly disclosed

Two things stand out. First, the 70% threshold applies to each component individually, so strength in one area cannot compensate for weakness in another. Second, the retake fee is tied to individual sections, which signals that NALI treats the components as separable pass/fail units. You can read more about the cutoff in our CLI passing score breakdown.

Three Components, Three Separate Hurdles

A common misreading is to treat the CLI like a single exam with a single score. It is not. The assessment is built from three components, and a candidate must reach at least 70% in each one. These are assessment components, not weighted content domains, and NALI has not published per-topic weights, so you should not assume an official percentage split of subject matter. Our guide to the CLI exam domains covers each in more depth.

Domain 1: Research White Paper

An original, unpublished paper of at least 1,000 words, prepared in advance and submitted with your application and fee. Because it is due before the exam date, it is the first hurdle you clear, and it demonstrates professional-level research and writing ability rather than recall.

  • Must be original and unpublished
  • 1,000-word minimum
  • Submitted ahead of the exam, not written on the day
  • Scored against the same 70% minimum as the other components

Domain 2: Written Examination

A timed written test with a 3-hour limit. NALI describes mixed formats: definitions, true/false, multiple choice, fill-in, matching, essays, and practical exercises such as an interview, a statement, and a memo. The number of questions and the scored versus unscored split are not publicly disclosed.

  • 3-hour time limit
  • Objective items alongside written and practical tasks
  • Practical interview, statement, and memo work tests applied skill

Domain 3: Oral Examination

The ethics and oral assessment runs approximately 3 additional hours. It evaluates how you reason through professional-responsibility situations out loud, which is a different skill from selecting an answer on paper.

  • Roughly 3 hours of additional assessment time
  • Includes oral ethics questioning
  • Judged against the same 70% component minimum

Where Candidates Realistically Struggle

Without published data, we cannot tell you which component produces the most failures, and we will not pretend otherwise. What we can do is reason from the design of the assessment about where preparation tends to fall short.

Format mismatch

Many investigators have strong field experience but little recent practice with formal written examinations that mix matching, fill-in, essay, and practical memo and statement tasks. The skill of writing a clean memo or taking a defensible statement under a time limit is different from doing it on a live case with no clock.

The white paper as an overlooked gate

Because the paper must be original, unpublished, and finished before the exam, candidates who delay it risk compressing their preparation window. It also has to meet the same 70% standard, so treating it as a formality is a mistake.

Oral ethics under pressure

Ethical reasoning that feels obvious in practice can come out disorganized when you must articulate it aloud to evaluators. Rehearsing structured explanations of your reasoning is more valuable than memorizing rules.

Why the per-component rule matters: Because each component carries its own 70% minimum, a strong written score does not rescue a weak oral performance. Candidates should plan to be competent in all three rather than excellent in two.

The Eligibility Filter Shapes Who Sits

Any pass-rate discussion has to account for who is allowed to attempt the exam. The CLI is not open to anyone who pays a fee. The eligibility requirements act as a pre-screen that likely produces a more experienced candidate pool than an entry-level credential would. Full details are in our CLI requirements guide, but the core points are:

  • Experience: five years of qualifying full-time civil-plaintiff or criminal-defense investigative experience.
  • Practice setting: the majority of that practice with an eligible law firm, government defense employer, or investigative firm.
  • Education credit: 60 semester or 90 quarter credits may replace one year of the experience requirement.
  • Licensing: state licensing where required.
  • Verification: two verification contacts and a background review.
  • Conduct: the brochure requires no felony convictions.

Because candidates must already have years of relevant work behind them, you should not expect pass-rate dynamics comparable to a credential that welcomes newcomers. At the same time, a self-selected, experienced pool does not guarantee a high pass rate; it simply means the published number, if it existed, would reflect a different population than a general-entry exam.

Retake Mechanics and What a Miss Costs

NALI prices retakes per failed section at one-third of the applicable fee. Based on the published fees, that works out to roughly one-third of $200 for members or $300 for non-members per failed section, though NALI's materials do not specify how amounts are rounded, so confirm the exact charge before you budget. For a complete money picture, see our CLI certification cost breakdown.

ScenarioWhat the structure implies
Fail one component, pass twoRetake fee applies to the failed section only, at one-third of your applicable fee
Fail multiple componentsRetake fee applies per failed section
Pass all three at 70% or aboveNo retake fee; certification process proceeds

Key Takeaway

The per-section retake structure lowers the financial penalty of a single weak component, but it does not shorten the calendar. Application, fee, and white paper are due 30 days before the exam, so check the scheduling details in our CLI exam dates guide and note that NALI's own statements on the three-year completion clock and regional scheduling conflict, so confirm directly with NALI.

How to Evaluate Pass-Rate Claims You Find Online

Because the CLI acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials, pass-rate figures circulating online are a real hazard. A percentage attached to "CLI" may belong to an entirely different certification. Use this quick checklist before trusting any number:

  1. Check the certifying body. The Certified Legal Investigator credential is run by NALI. If the source names a different organization, it is describing a different credential.
  2. Look for a citation to NALI. NALI has not disclosed a pass rate, so a precise figure with no NALI source is unverified.
  3. Watch for mismatched details. Fees, formats, or domain names that do not match a 70%-per-component, white paper, written, and oral structure indicate a different exam.
  4. Prefer qualitative honesty. Trustworthy sources say the rate is undisclosed rather than inventing one.

If you want to understand what the credential is before going further, our explainers on what CLI certification is and what CLI stands for clarify the scope.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Component

Rather than generic study advice, the most defensible plan follows the three assessed components, working backward from the 30-day pre-exam deadline for the application, fee, and white paper. This is a scheduling suggestion, not an official timeline.

Early

Lock the white paper first

  • Choose an original topic from your own investigative practice
  • Confirm it is unpublished and exceeds 1,000 words
  • Finish it before the 30-day deadline, since it ships with your application and fee
Middle

Drill the written format

  • Practice definitions, true/false, matching, fill-in, and multiple-choice items
  • Rehearse writing a memo and a statement, plus an interview exercise, within the 3-hour limit
  • Use our practice tests to build familiarity with objective-item pacing
Final stretch

Rehearse the oral ethics assessment

  • Talk through ethical scenarios aloud with a peer or mentor
  • Practice structuring your reasoning concisely
  • Prepare for roughly 3 hours of assessment

Our CLI study guide expands this approach, and the CLI cheat sheet is useful for last-minute review of the facts above. Practice questions are educational preparation only; they cannot replace the original white paper, the interview and statement-taking tasks, or the oral ethics assessment. You can explore additional practice material on the main practice test site.

What the pass rate cannot tell you: Even if NALI published a percentage tomorrow, it would describe a past cohort, not your odds. Your result depends on whether you reach 70% in each component, which is a function of preparation against that specific design, not of an aggregate statistic.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Certified Legal Investigator pass rate?

NALI does not publicly disclose a pass rate for the Certified Legal Investigator credential. Any specific percentage you find online that is not sourced to NALI should be treated as unverified, since the CLI acronym is shared with unrelated credentials.

What score do I need to pass the CLI?

You need at least 70% in each of three components: the research white paper, the written examination, and the oral examination. A strong score in one component does not offset a weaker one.

How long is the CLI exam?

The written component has a 3-hour limit. The ethics and oral assessment takes approximately 3 additional hours. The white paper, which must be at least 1,000 words, original, and unpublished, is prepared in advance.

What happens if I fail one part of the CLI?

NALI prices retakes at one-third of the applicable fee per failed section. The exam fee is $200 for members and $300 for non-members, but rounding is not specified, so confirm the exact retake charge with NALI.

Is the CLI worth pursuing if the pass rate is unknown?

The missing pass rate is only one input. Consider the experience requirement, the cost, and your career goals. Our ROI analysis, salary guide, and CLI jobs overview help you weigh the decision with the information that is available.

Ready to pass your CLI exam?

Put this into practice with free CLI questions across every exam domain.